RSS Feed

Giveaway – Ceramic Paring Knife

February 10th is the start of the Chinese New Year, the Year of the Snake, and what better way to celebrate than with another giveaway! I’m particularly excited about this one – a ceramic paring knife from the great folks at Helen’s Asian Kitchen! Helen Chen’s products are fantastic, and this ceramic paring knife will help you fly through all of your stir-frying prep work. Ceramic blades are super sharp and never lose their edge, making peeling, cutting, and dicing a breeze.

All you have to do to enter is leave a comment below answering the following question:

What is the biggest challenge that prevents, or in the past has prevented, you from stir-frying: Finding Asian ingredients? High heat cooking? Using a wok? Other?

The contest will be open until 11:59 pm EST on Friday, February 15th. A winner will be chosen at random from the comments.

– Matt

22 responses »

  1. What prevented me from stir frying was the intimidation of trying to time all the different ingredients for addition into the wok. It wasn’t until i got Grace Young’s book and took The Art of the Wok class at Kitchen on Fire that I learned the small bowl technique of having everything ready ahead of time, DUH?

    Reply
  2. For a long time, I lacked good information on how to make a proper stirfry. Grace’s techniques are so straightforward and simple and have yielded good results every time I try them. Sometimes I don’t quite have the time to put a stirfry together (or haven’t made the (brown) rice in time) but if I do have time, I use Grace’s books every time. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Finding the correct authentic Asian ingredients when I didn’t know what I was looking for. Slowly I am becoming more familiar with the more common ones. Once you have a stocked Asian pantry it is much less daunting to whip up a stir fry because you have almost everything on hand.

    Reply
  4. Nothing prevents me from using my wok.

    Reply
  5. In the past, my biggest problem was not knowing what I was doing, which meant that my results were usually disappointing. The other problem was that so many cookbooks have you pass ingredients through large amounts of oil, which wasn’t the healthy cooking I wanted to do, and created the problem of what to do with all that oil when I was done! Neither of these things are problems anymore thanks to Grace Young’s techniques.

    Reply
  6. On a busy night, my biggest barrier is the time to chop everything. Since we shop just at the farmer’s market, we don’t buy pre-chopped veggies. But, I am learning to chop and freeze for later!

    Reply
  7. Finding a large enough heat source indoors.

    Reply
  8. Oooh, one can never have too many knives! I have always wanted to try a ceramic knife. My biggest challenge is finding the ingredients. We have what I think is a great Asian store, 99 Ranch, though it is quite daunting when you are unfamiliar with the cuisine.

    Reply
  9. Initially, I don’t think I had properly seasoned my wok! But thanks to Grace Young, I now have many properly seasoned woks & enjoy using them immensely 🙂 I also have followed Grace’s detailed instructions on how to care for & clean your wok, so now I am one happy “wokker”!

    Reply
  10. The difficulty in finding Asian ingredients is a hindrance. Grace Young’s books have helped to build my confidence and I can often talk my husband into chopping! Thanks for Wok Wednesdays – very enjoyable!

    Reply
  11. my two problems: finding some of the ingredients at the one grocery we have in our rural, remote town ( 90 miles from the nearest Starbucks!) and lacking high enough heat or proper exhaust in my small kitchen. I have found more and more things available on line and learned to substitute vegetables at times. When ever possible I now cook outside with higher propane heat and no worries about ventilation. Thanks to Graces books I am gaining more confidence with my wok.

    Reply
  12. Now with new information about stir frying, I do it quite often.

    Reply
  13. Finding a proper heat source was my problem for a while. I bought a Butane stove and now my problems are solved.

    Reply
  14. Originally it was method of cooking that prevented me from stir-frying on a regular basis. Used to do all of the proteins at once and they tended to be watery and soup-like. Now, after reading these posts and watching several videos, I learned to cook the proteins in small batches and now it’s apparent that the browning (vice stewing) process if working perfectly. Problem solved.

    Reply
  15. Until I met Grace and Tane Chan of the Wok Shop, I thought I was supposed to restore my wok to shiny stainless steel condition after each stir-fry. Only after I figured out that the dark colored patina that developed was part of the appeal of cooking with the wok did it all come together.

    Reply
  16. Living in a small town, I have a hard time finding the ingredients for certain recipes. I try to stock up on seasonings, dry noodles and canned ingredients when I visit family in San Diego. The markets there are fantastic and I can always find what I need.

    Reply
  17. Knowing the proper technique has given me confidence to use my wok almost daily.

    Reply
  18. Biggest challenge so far has been finding (or remembering to pick up) certain Asian ingredients.

    Reply
  19. Finding a good heat source had been problematic before, but since moving to a new place, it hasn’t been much of a problem.

    Reply
  20. I’ve just been too lazy to do the chopping! I NEED a new knife! That said, our church had a Chinese New Year potluck last night and I tried my hand at a stir fry with rice noodles. I guessed at the sauce and it actually tasted pretty good. This morning I find myself CRAVING that stir fry again, so I think I might have just made an abrupt turn in my outlook on chopping and cooking. I love veggies, rice and noodles, so why not work my way through the cookbook too? Maybe I can find some friends and this can be my new year’s resolution!! I’m not a snake, but roosters are flamboyant and creative! GO 2013!! Who knows? I might even lose some weight, and certainly I’ll be healthier at the end!

    Reply
  21. I’ve not tried seriously due to lack of a proper cooking set up, especially a source of sustainable high heat. I just purchased a Big Green Egg ceramic grill, and now I am going to “wok a lot”!

    Reply
  22. My obstacle has been not having a suitable stove and not having a local asian market. But, I’ve decided to go for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

