RSS Feed

Q&C – Stir Fried Mussels with Ginger and Scallions

I hope everyone has had a restful and relaxing holiday! I myself am still recovering from the gluttony, but I’m ready to get my wok fired up for next week’s recipe! I’ve never stir-fried shellfish before, so it should be an adventure! Before we get started we’ll have our usual questions and comments discussion, both here and in our Facebook group. Have at it in the comments with any thoughts or questions you might have, and we’ll try to get them all answered before next Wednesday!

– Matt

PS. Fellow wokker Rob asked about using frozen mussels if fresh ones aren’t available, and the response from Grace was that she has never tried frozen ones. If anyone would like to try frozen mussels we’d love the feedback!

3 responses »

  1. Here is a visual of what the beard looks like. Not what I had envisioned.
    Not sure if I will be attempting this one. The first and only time I have had mussels was probably 30 years ago! I’m hesitant in the unsafe aspect – open vs closed mussels. And does it hurt the mussel to have the beard removed? I read that mussels are alive. I won’t cook a lobster because I can not bring myself to throw a live sea creature into a pot of boiling water.

    http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-clean-and-debeard-musse-50028

    Reply
  2. Mussels and other shellfish should be alive when you purchase and cook them. No worries though, I wouldn’t want anyone to attempt a recipe that made them morally uncomfortable!

    Reply
  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a
    blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Appreciate it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

