RSS Feed

Giveaway – Negi Cutter

If there is one ingredient that tends to show up time and again in stir-fry recipes its scallions. Personally I love scallions, but oftentimes when the recipe calls for the thinly shredded scallions that are a staple of many stir-fry dishes, I wimp out and just roughly chop them. Luckily for us some enterprising genius came up with the negi cutter, a nifty and easy way to quickly and uniformly shred scallions. It’s also handy for asparagus, leeks, and other veggies.

Many of our upcoming recipes will call for shredded scallions, so I’m happy to announce our next giveaway will be a negi cutter, courtesy of The Wok Shop! Here’s how to enter:

Leave a comment below by midnight on August 31st with your thoughts on the following prompt:

Would you make a non-Asian stir-fry (ie. shrimp scampi stir-fry)? Do you feel stir-fry has to be Asian or do you like the idea of stir-fries with Mediterranean, Latin, or even Caribbean flavors?  Can the aromatics be garlic, shallots, or onion (rather than ginger, scallions, and chilies) and be seasoned with chopped basil and wine (rather than cilantro and rice wine)? Tell us what you think.

A winner will be chosen at random and will find him or herself the proud owner of a new negi cutter!

25 responses »

  1. I definitely think it is okay to use the wok for nonasian dishes! Also fine to make up stir fry dishes following other culinary traditions foe example a Mediterranean stir fry with garlic and wine. However, I also think it is great to learn traditional dishes and be true/faithful to the ingredients then after a time having some variations. I think it is important to know what the traditional dishes are supposed to taste like. The classics of any culinary tradition are classics for a reason!

    Reply
  2. Shirley Bartee

    I use seafood in stir fried dishes. I like trying new ways to cook and try to see how a dish will turn out. I always try them out on my husband.

    Reply
  3. Absolutely! I stir-fried Brussel sprouts in the wok ~ turned out fabulously. I am loving the Asian recipes from the book though, and that will be mostly what I make in the wok.

    Reply
  4. H m m ? I just can’t see my mother in law (from mainland China) using basil in anything. Oh my! But I do love basil and so many other tastes that I believe I can stir fry with them. Yet there is nothing like a traditional stir fry to help my soul sing of those gone on and feel the tastes of comfort as if they were with me for a meal. So both are just fine. Also think it would be so cool to have that little cutter rather than trying to make my fingers work so hard to slice scallions finely. Love your posts and book.

    Reply
  5. A greek stir fry is a good thought as well. I would include eggplant, olives, peppers and onions. Dill would be a perfect seasoning for this dish as well.

    Reply
  6. Living next to Chinatown, I have fallen into the habit of letting the pros cook for me. Reviewing Grace’s inspiring book has convinced me I need to stir fry at home! Going to get a wok and season it with step by step photo instructions for my readers. I’d love this tool – sometimes my people (Japanese) get it right!

    Reply
  7. Ooh, must have one of those. I was in Mexico last week and took a class from an amazing home cook. She asked what I liked to cook and, despite her excellent English, was very confused when I mentioned stir frying. There are some Asian-style restaurants in Oaxaca, but no sign of woks or anything remotely similar in the mercados. With their abundance of seafood, pork and beautiful fresh vegetables, this really seems a shame. I’d be thrilled to have a negi cutter to speed prep and enhance the beauty of my stiry fry dishes.

    Reply
  8. Absolutely! I actually have a cast iron Lodge wok that I use for just about everything that doesn’t need the traditional wok. Mediterranean and island-style foods take particularly well to it or just a combination of what’s in the fridge! I think that cutter is brilliant too, what an eassy way to make those pretty strings. Keep up all the great work, we appreciate you!

    Reply
  9. Sita krishnaswamy

    I think stir fry is a technique of cooking that is so versatile that it lends itself to be used in pretty much any type of cooking. I use my stir fry techniques when I cook inian food, when I toss pasta in with sautéed pancetta and red pepper flakes and I use all different ingredients.

    I think the key the is to follow the rules, which is a hot wok, even sized pieces thin slices and to really stir fry it and not steam the food.

    Reply
  10. As far back as 1978 Julia Child had a recipe in her book “Julia Child & Company” for a “Wok Saute of Grated Zucchini and Fresh Spinach”. I quote from her top notes :” In this attractive combination, the fresh spinach gives character to the zucchini, and the zucchini tenderizes the bite of the spinach, while a little onion lends its subtle depth. Although you can cook it all in a frying pan, the wok is especially successful here.” There is nothing Asian-centric about it especially since she recommends a bit of cream towards the end! Then again it could be made more Asian with some shredded scallions!

    Reply
  11. Definitely! Simple veggies with garlic stir fried in olive oil is a staple. Will also try some of the ideas in the comments here.

    Reply
  12. I do not believe stir-fry has to be Asian. It can be anything we want it to be! I threw together chicken tenders with artichoke hearts, peppers and shallot with the oil from the artichoke hearts, and a splash of white wine…delicious!! Happy woking.

    Reply
  13. Absolutely, I love to cook anything with my wok because it is diversity with a culture that I start learning. For instance, I have had cooked the Asian foods but I am starting to learn how to cook the spanish food. Rice is the similar and it is sort of the common for many cultures. I thought of cooking the similar way but with different mixtures of vegetables and seasons. A great taste of sauce to be added, of course. I love learning different food cultures. Regarding of that negi-cutter, it certainly would be very helper with my precook skill because with that helper, it would help me becoming more creative on cooking dishes. I love learning new things. Finally, I sometimes cook warmed fruits with seasoned sauce and to covered the salmon. It is absolutely delicious and very healthy.

    Reply
  14. I am up to a stir-fry challenge of any kind, shape or form. Getting ready to go camping and plan to put my wok to good use. My family will be blown away. I think diversity of ingredients for a stir-fry is a given. Bring it on. GG

    Reply
  15. Anything that is stirred & fried is a stir-fry in my book!

    Reply
  16. Hi. I think basil is one of the easiest herbs to use with stir fry. So are shedded greens like kale.

    Reply
  17. Stir-frying is a great technique that can be used with basically any type of food! My wok is my kitchen BFF & an indispensible tool 🙂 Stir-fries dont need to be Asian necessarily, I made Chimmichurri Stir-Fry Shrimp & Noodles just the other day but our fav is Jerk Style stir-fries — hot & spicy!

    Reply
  18. I think stir-fry in any language, country or culture is always delicious and definitely popular. It’s one of the easiest ways to put a dish together. And yes, Basil and Wine will make good ingredients for a stir-fry. I’d love to try it.This is an awesome gadget for scallions. I could use one! Hope I win the giveaway. The things I could do with this 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply
  19. I think stir fry is multicultural. I think it is most associated with the Asian culture, but I think my mother use to use stir frying techniques for fruits to make a Carribean style dish.

    Reply
  20. The Wok and the Negi are stir fry companions.

    One is hard steel, with hot sheen and its smoke.
    One is more gentle yet pungent as curls it unfurls.

    Seeming as combat of metal and vegetable
    The process of Stir-Fry reveals.

    Those beauty of green onions
    Sliced and fried to their curling
    Are best done alone
    Then added at moment of their best accent.

    The Japanese name them as Negi.
    Some call them Scallions, others Green Onions.
    Their beauty both touch and their eye appeal.

    To master the Wok
    one must ask of the Negi
    to take this quick journey.

    Reply
  21. Thanks everyone for all the great comments. It’s fascinating that most of you see the stir-fry as a global way of cooking not restricted by Asian ingredients. Looking forward to seeing who wins the negi cutter!

    Reply
  22. Although I use my wok mostly for Asian stir-fries, I have used it to make Linguine with Clam Sauce – the shape of the wok is perfect for this dish.

    Reply
  23. Pingback: Negi Cutter Winner « wokwednesdays

Leave a Reply

