RSS Feed

Szechuan Peppercorn Giveaway & July Recipe Announcement

Thanks for all the nominations! The recipe we’ll make on July 25th will be….Kung Pao Chicken! In addition to being one of my favorite Chinese takeout orders, Kung Pao Chicken will also be a good practice in mise en place – there are a lot of ingredients!

Photo: Robyn Lee, SeriousEats.com

I’m also excited to announce our next giveaway. This is a fun one! If you look at the ingredients for Kung Pao Chicken in SFTTSE you’ll notice that it calls for Szechuan peppercorns. These can be hard to find if you don’t have an Asian market in your area. Luckily for us, Grace has come to the rescue! A good friend of hers recently came back from a visit to China and brought her some super-high-quality, authentic Szechuan peppercorns, and she’s going to send a small packet of the peppercorns to the lucky winner of this week’s giveaway! You’ll receive them in plenty of time to make the recipe, and you can tell your friends that these peppercorns are direct from China! All you need to do to enter is a leave a comment on this post answering the following question:

What’s a favorite stir-fry dish (from a restaurant, Chinese takeout, etc) that you wish you knew how to make? (It doesn’t have to be from SFTTSE)

Double bonus! In addition to getting the peppercorns, we will also make the winner’s suggested favorite dish as a special project later on this summer!

You have until Monday, July 16th at 11:59pm EST to enter. Good luck!

 

14 responses »

  1. I want to learn to make Kung Pao chicken. I have been unable to find szechuan peppercorns and the chinese rice wine, so would love to win these! Thanks!

    Reply
  2. I love moo shu – chicken, pork, vegetable, anything – but it’s often not made very well. I use it as my measure of a new restaurant. Have not tried making it myself but this is definitely something I’d like to master.

    Reply
  3. I love spicy crispy shredded beef – the kind with thinly julienned carrots and unhealthy of slightly sweet and rather spicy coating on the thin beef pieces that makes them so addictive.

    Reply
  4. Mu Shu pork! Pot Stickers! ( I guess not Stir Fry) Cashew chicken! Shrimp Osaka from the Mustard Seed in Missoula Montana.

    Reply
  5. I would love to know how to make the orange chicken that you get in Chinese restaurants. It appears to be deep fried then lathered in this luscious orange sauce. Oh my, sorry, I’m salivating again!

    Reply
  6. Ya Hoooooo. Kung Pao Chicken!

    Reply
  7. suzanne knibbs

    Ginger beef- the crispy kind. would love to master my “ideal” ginger beef which is spicy, crispy, gingery and very addictive.

    Reply
  8. One of our favorite dishes from our local restaurant, which we haven’t had in ages, is Happy Combo with Honey Glazed Walnuts. Scallops and crispy prawns in a creamy sauce. So much for the healthy in stir-fry – this probably isn’t stir-fried come to think of it. Still tasty though!

    Reply
  9. Crispy beef is one that I love, but wonder how they get it so good and crispy. This is not a stir-fry but it was so interesting to watch- I took my little girl to a new Chinese restaurant that hand pulls their own noodles. What an art!

    Reply
  10. What is the best substitution if you cannot get any Szechuan peppercorns in time to make the dish? Dried red peppers?

    Reply
    • I asked Grace this question in the past and she pointed me to Amazon. I’ve been able to find Asian ingredients there that I can’t find in the middle of Kentucky, including these peppercorns. And you never even have to leave the house!

      Reply
  11. PF Chang’s Wok-Seared Lamb?

    Reply
  12. I want to learn to make a more traditional version of the Sesame chicken dished found in American Chinese food establishments. I love sesame chicken, but could do without the gobs of sauce that top it. I’m guessing a traditional version won’t have such a thick, goopy sauce.

    Reply
  13. Chicken and asparagus in spicey black bean sauce…mmmmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

